It is at Uyuni, a small town of just over 10,000 inhabitants located more than 3,670 meters above sea level that can be found one of the most famous train cemetery. Well, we must also say that the world's largest salty desert is located in Uyuni...
Located in the town of Celles, in the Namur area in Belgium, the Miranda castle (or Noisy) is unquestionably one of the most famous Belgian places for urbexers . Built in 1907 (the work has began in 1866), the castle is owned by the Comte Liedekerke-Beaufort.
With its Gothic Revival style, the castle has briefly been occupied by German troops during World War II. The site then became a resort for the children of SNCB employees (National Railway Company of Belgium) in 1950.
In 1991, a fire cause significant enough damage to force the abandonment of the castle. Since then, its condition has decayed. Its stable has collapsed and structure is weakened more then ever.
In December 2013, the owner obtains from the Houyet Common a demolition permit. Reason given: the high risks faced to the illegal visitors more numerous each month. Therefore, a petition was launched to save this jewel classified by the Tribune de Genève among the forty most beautiful forgotten places around the world. To date (February 2014), more than 5,500 signatories have expressed their concern about the demolition.
It is at Uyuni, a small town of just over 10,000 inhabitants located more than 3,670 meters above sea level that can be found one of the most famous train cemetery. Well, we must also say that the world's largest salty desert is located in Uyuni...
We are talking about over 5000 years of mining history in this area. The landscape has been changed forever, and it looks at some places like a alien planet where red, yellow, purple mingle with green, gray and ocher.
The ten abandoned...
Jewel of Quebec's heritage, the seigniorial manor was built in 1795. Expanded several times over the years, it was used for several purposes. From 1967 to 2000 it was used as a high school and later, Quebec police organization “Sûreté du Québec”...
It was a garage, but also a gas station, a car wash and a house. But today, the large building is completely abandoned. Newspapers and magazines on the floor suggest that the owners left about two years ago. They have left suddenly, by the way....