Abandoned since 2002, the huge complex that has formed the abbay of Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Conseil in Saint-Romuald is now completely destroyed. Vandalized and burned several times, its owner, the Ultramar refinery, had no choice and have razed the...
In 1892 begins the construction of the St. Andrew's church in this small village somewhere in Gaspésie. While the land was formerly occupied by the Mi'kmaq, the region was soon settled by Scots in the nineteenth century followed by Irish, English and Jersey citizens. In total, there were 825 inhabitants in 1825. In the space of a few years two churches were built.
Over 175 years later and seeing the number of practitioners melt like snow in the sun, it was decided to close one of the two churches of the village in 2011. Despite the closure of St Andrew's in 2011, citizens continued to maintain the church. Despite the infiltration of water and the fragile floor in places, this place of worship is well preserved.
Abandoned since 2002, the huge complex that has formed the abbay of Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Conseil in Saint-Romuald is now completely destroyed. Vandalized and burned several times, its owner, the Ultramar refinery, had no choice and have razed the...
We must go back to 2014 to find the last traces of the religious ceremony in the church. Since then, virtually nothing has changed between its walls. Despite minimal maintenance, the cobwebs began to appear here and there between furniture and...
The monastery was built at the beginning of the 20th century. Situated on a mountainside so as to offer occupants a breathtaking view of the area that extends to their feet, the site is still 100 years later of great beauty. Three floors high,...
Jewel of Quebec's heritage, the seigniorial manor was built in 1795. Expanded several times over the years, it was used for several purposes. From 1967 to 2000 it was used as a high school and later, Quebec police organization “Sûreté du Québec”...